Blueberry and Polenta Muffins

Daisy's

You know it’s summer, when you look outside and see the vibrant colours bursting forth in the surrounding  landscapes.

These are some of the flowers I see in my own garden. Come and have a peek.

Pink and Purple flowers

I gained some inspiration from the mirage of greens, yellows, pinks, purples to have a complete redesign of my blog.

Flowers

Let me know your thoughts. I have a feeling I will be playing around with it for a while.

Cherry Tree

See those cherries? They are just one of the fruit trees/bushes growing in my backyard. There is also fig, apple, pear, peach, blackberry and gooseberry. They are all little baby trees still just beginning to bear fruit. I can’t wait to see and taste their progression over the coming years.

Plate of blueberry and polenta muffins

Blueberry and Polenta Muffins

Not grown in this country nevermind from my garden, blueberries are nonetheless a keen favourite in this house. We also call them “Brainberries” as I have convinced my kids that not only are they incredibly flavoursome but they also make you very smart. The graininess of the polenta compliments the fleshy berry well and makes them perfect for breakfast (I had mine with a pot of lemon yoghurt this morning) as well as an after meal sweet snack. The recipe I used called them “cupcakes” but I think that inhibits their possibilities. Sprinkle them with icing sugar as I have done in the photos and suddenly you have something a bit prettier but no more tastier.

Ingredients

110g unsalted butter
110g demerara sugar
120g soft light brown sugar
160g plain flour
140g polenta/cornmeal
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
125ml buttermilk
250g blueberries
Icing sugar for dusting (optional)

Preheat oven to 180c/350f/gas mark 4. Line one or two 12 hole muffin trays with cupcake cases.

In a large bowl cream together the butter and sugar until it is pale and smooth – about 3-5 mins using an electric mixer. Add the eggs one at a time and mix for a few minutes after each.

Combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl using a whisk.  

Add a third of the flour mixture to the creamed butter and beat until just combined. Add half of the buttermilk and again mix until just combined. Repeat steps until all ingredients have been mixed together.

Gently fold in the blueberries. NB don’t forget to coat them in a little plain flour beforehand to stop them from sinking to the bottom of the cupcakes.

Spoon the mixture in to the cases about 2/3 of the way up.

Bake for 25 mins until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

Remove from oven and leave in the tin for about 10 mins while they cool down. Take out of the tin and sprinkle with icing sugar if you want before serving.

Plate of blueberry and potenta muffins

4 thoughts on “Blueberry and Polenta Muffins

  1. Your garden is lovely. I am so happy that my children are working in the soil and creating beauty around them. The muffins look wonderful too. I tthink i will try them as blueberries are bountiful in our area now. Will let you know how they turn out!

    Like

Comments are closed.